A thousand doubting monkeys

The thing about being organised every once in a while and making a whole batch of submissions is that when, inevitably, a few rejections follow, your 12-month average acceptance rate as quoted on Duotrope looks a bit sad for a while. So although I tell myself (and usually I believe me) that this is a temporary state of affairs, I did find it amusingly appropriate when I saw on the BBC website that monkeys ‘display self-doubt’. On further investigation, though it was talking about an interesting display of apparent self-awareness, I don’t think I’d see it as self-doubt, more uncertainty about something external. Whereas these thousand monkeys are definitely (if very mildly) doubting their own ability – but don’t worry, it’ll pass.

In the meantime, I’m gearing up to give NaBloPoMo a go (try saying that when you’ve just woken up) so you may be hearing from me more often than usual in March.

Leave a Reply

