And so that was Christmas

Well, that’s Christmas over and done with for another year. Some will be sad, others breathing a sigh of relief by now. I was lucky with the writing-related presents this year:

My Saratoga (Charlie Bradshaw Mystery) collection is now complete and I look forward to reading those last 2; I now have my very own DVD of Billy Liar to watch whenever I feel like; a snazzy new mug for the all-important tea; a fancy pocket notebook; and from OneMonkey the novel which the fabulous film Elling was based on, and Richard Hoggart’s The Uses of Literacy (I’m sure by now you all know how much I love reading books that work me up about education, class and The North). Looks like January’s going to be an enjoyable month, though whether I’ll get much actual writing done is debatable, probably more in the way of background reading, learning from the masters etc.

This is day 5 of my 15-day festive break, and I’ve done no writing so far. Mark suggested we should set each other creative challenges for the year ahead, though whether either of us would stick to them is another matter. Certainly looks like I need to start shaping some writing resolutions (again).

Leave a Reply

