Self-referential but not in the clique

A post about blog posts, how original. Then again this blog never claimed originality so I’ll continue. I’ve been trying the social contact thing again lately, where instead of muttering to myself as I read someone else’s blog, I actually compose a comment in response, thus also giving someone the brief thrill of knowing they have an audience of strangers (or at least one stranger). Except that some people don’t seem to want an audience of strangers. Occasionally I come across a post that interests me, read it, read the ‘about’ page or similar (just to check I’m not about to discuss Trollope with a neo-Nazi by accident) and maybe check out a few other posts and their comments. Every so often a blog is so clearly a discussion board for a few close friends that I go away again without writing a thing, almost feeling like I’ve been eavesdropping on a private conversation. There are others that appear to be open and public until I actually leave a comment, then gradually I notice that all further comments betray a familiarity with the blogger, and (unlike mine) are replied to (at which point the little voice in my head says ‘I’ll get my coat’ and I sidle away). Luckily there are bloggers out there who are friendly and welcoming, and sometimes I even think I might be getting the hang of this.

Leave a Reply

