The lure of libraries, chapter 94

I really shouldn’t be allowed near libraries; I only went to return the Megan Abbott novel I mentioned the other day (and because the walk’s good for me), but I came out with three books and it would have been more if I could have faced the walk home with them. Two Robert B Parker novels since I was so impressed with his handling of Poodle Springs, and an anthology of ‘Alternate history mystery’ called Sideways in Crime which I’m particularly looking forward to (I’ve even heard of some of the contributors). Of course they’ll all have to wait till I’ve finished the book I’m reading at the moment (The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde, which being the first in the Thursday Next series is explaining a lot of things from Something Rotten, the fourth book but the first I read) but long warm summer evenings are good for that, sitting outside with a cup of tea in one hand and a novel in the other (one of my favourite poses). Such a shame the weather forecast’s showing cold rain for the rest of the week.

2 comments

  1. Yes, libraries do lure you in and being among all those books makes me go weak at the knees. BUT take out a good book and you curse yourself because you just have to return it. At least I do…. “sigh*

    1. The one I’m really kicking myself over is Neuromancer, I can’t justify buying it because I’m not likely to get round to reading it again but it’d be nice to revisit certain parts.

Leave a Reply

