Christmas holidays, a time for time-wasting

Here I am, a day and a half into my two-week break for the festive season, and this is the first setting of fingers to keyboard. Or at least to computer keyboard – December is traditionally the time of year I realise how little I play piano and try to rectify that, until I get distracted again and slacken off till next December. My main writing aim for the holidays is the completion of the serial novel (filename Timewasting.tex, hence, or partly hence, the post title), which lacks about half a dozen chapters. Doesn’t sound a lot, but I can see me sitting here in ten days’ time, still with at least four chapters to go. Part of the problem is the snow – we seem to get so little of it these days that it’s a big deal when it happens; I’ve spent more time watching snow falling, photographing snowy landscapes and plants, and staring out of the window at the suddenly unfamiliar shrouded garden than doing anything else in the past couple of days.

So here’s my declaration of intent for the two weeks in which I don’t have to go to work, don’t have to spend the evenings unwinding after work, don’t have anything much to do at all: I will finish the serial novel, I will submit at least three short stories to magazines, I will drink at least 6 gallons of tea while I’m doing it, and I will do my utmost to keep the mince pie crumbs from getting stuck in the keyboard. Watch this space for updates.

Leave a Reply

