Listening to advice for a change

Another snippet I stored away at the Doctor Who writers event was that when Simon Guerrier set out to collect as many rejection slips as he could in one year, he ended the year as a professional writer. I don’t know how long ago this was (and since he’s about the same age as me, I don’t think I want to know in case it makes me feel like a late starter. Though Raymond Chandler was in his forties I think, when he started writing, and Anthony Trollope was about the age I am now) but it stands to reason that the more submissions you make, the more (in terms of absolute numbers) you’ll be successful. Although I like to think my writing’s gradually improving, I’m sure it’s no coincidence that 2009 has seen my greatest number of acceptances as well as my greatest number of submissions, so spurred on by Simon’s example I’ve made 3 submissions this weekend, with another in mind for the coming week. Might be a bit short of time if I wanted to be a professional by the end of the year, but one step at a time…

Leave a Reply

