Too many zombies may be good for your health

Well that was quite a long absence, and although I’ve edged a little closer to completing the serial novel, mainly I’ve been reading detective stories. I will pontificate at length on detective fiction later on, but for now I’d like to enthuse about another story I’ve had accepted. To be precise, Morpheus Tales held a competition for flash fiction inspired by one of LeMat’s marvellous paintings and I came joint second (yes, they know he’s a friend of mine and no, he had no hand in the selection. Phew, I wouldn’t want to leave myself open to a Private Eye dressing-down). It’s zombie horror, so not my usual kind of thing (that said, do I have a usual kind of thing?) but it was enjoyable to write (always important) and quite a challenge to weave a story that fully gelled with the painting (hats off to Tracy Chevalier. At least for her first couple of novels – see earlier posts on that topic).

Back to the celebratory cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

