The cat who was afraid of bananas

Bizarre as it may seem, I’ve recently discovered that my cat is terrified of bananas. He gets quite interested by the smell, his nose quivers and he leans forward to sniff at it, but if I break a piece off and hold it out to him he flattens his ears and runs away. The first time it happened I figured it was coincidence, but in the spirit of scientific enquiry I’ve tried it a couple of times and the same thing happens. Naturally this made me think about the whole ‘truth is stranger than fiction’ thing, and whether anyone would accept this as a fictional occurrence. Then I wondered if there was any aspect of it I could use, any inspiration I could tease from it. I thought it might be a starting point for something, the trigger for unlikely events. But maybe my cat’s just frightened of bananas.

2 comments

  1. Cats really are afraid of bananas, though I’m not sure why, my cat begs for everything in the world, but one sniff of a banana he heads straight for the hills.

    1. And I thought it was just mine being strange. Are there any natural predators of cats that are small and yellow? Is the wild banana in fact a natural predator of cats? There must be a university researcher out there somewhere who’s looked into this, it’s just crying out for it…

Leave a Reply

